Leaders to Leaders Summit on Climate: Day 2

Fri, 23 Apr 2021 12:00:00 GMT

President Biden invited 40 world leaders to the Leaders Summit on Climate he will host on April 22 and 23. The virtual Leaders Summit will be live streamed for public viewing.

Day 2 Schedule

8:00 a.m.–Session 4

Unleashing Climate Innovation

This session will highlight the critical role of technological innovation in achieving a net-zero, climate-resilient economy; the importance of accelerating public and private investment in climate innovation; and the enormous economic opportunities in building the industries of the future.

U.S. Participants:
  • Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm
  • Secretary of Commerce Gina M. Raimondo
  • Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry
  • Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen, Denmark
  • Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Israel
  • President Uhuru Kenyatta, Kenya
  • Prime Minister Erna Solberg, Norway
  • Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Singapore
  • Prime Minister Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, United Arab Emirates
  • Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
  • Anna Borg, President and CEO, Vattenfall
  • Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Danielle Merfeld, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, GE Renewable Energy
  • Audrey Zibelman, Vice President, X

9:15 a.m.–Session 5

The Economic Opportunities of Climate Action

This session will highlight the broad economic benefits of climate action, with a strong focus on job creation. It will explore the economic benefits of green recovery and long-term decarbonization and the importance of ensuring that all communities and workers benefit from the clean-energy transition.

U.S. Participants:
  • Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg
  • United States Trade Representative Katherine C. Tai
  • National Climate Advisor Gina McCarthy
  • President Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria
  • President Andrzej Duda, Poland
  • Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez, Spain
  • President Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Vietnam
  • Jack Allen, CEO, Proterra
  • Roxanne Brown, International Vice President at Large, United Steelworkers
  • Sharan Burrow, General Secretary, International Trade Union
  • Brett Isaac, CEO, Navajo Power
  • Erica Mackie, CEO, Grid Alternatives
  • Nthabiseng Mosia, Co-Founder and CCO, Easy Solar
  • George Oliver, Chairman and CEO, Johnson Controls International; Chair, Business Roundtable Energy and Environment Committee
  • Lonnie R. Stephenson, President, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Day 2 Featured Speakers:
  • Michael Bloomberg, U.N. Special Envoy on Climate Ambition and Solutions
  • Bill Gates, Founder, Breakthrough Energy
  • Brenda Mallory, Chair, White House Council on Environmental Quality
  • Peggy Shepard, Executive Director, WE ACT for Environmental Justice; Co-Chair, White House Environmental Justice Advisory Council