Indigenous Grandmothers vs. AltaGas, Washington Gas’ Parent Company

Thu, 20 Jun 2024 22:30:00 GMT

Mark your calendars: Mi’kmaq grandmothers to visit DC on Thursday, June 20 from Nova Scotia. Come hear their stories of protecting sacred indigenous land from the false claims and reckless pipeline plans of Washington Gas’s parent company, AltaGas, in Canada.

Cheryl and April Maloney, who led the Mi’kmaq campaign, will tell their story with words, photos, and video. They’ll describe their “spiritual” campaign that began with the building of a sacred fire near the gas company’s proposed pipeline operation, invoking the spirit and guidance of their ancestors. For nearly ten years, these heroic leaders fought – and won – a bruising pipeline fight against AltaGas.

Along the way, they encountered the kind of false claims, greed, and fossil fuel expansion efforts that Washington Gas now demonstrates almost daily across DC, Maryland and Northern Virginia.

WHAT: Indigenous Grandmothers vs. AltaGas, Washington Gas’ Parent Company — A Cautionary Tale for Washington, DC!

WHERE: Foundry United Methodist Church, 1500 16th St NW, Washington, DC 20036

WHEN: Thursday, June 20, 6:30 PM-8:00 PM. Doors open at 6:00 PM.

WHAT ELSE: This event is FREE and drinks will be provided.


Oversight of the Smithsonian Institution

Tue, 18 Jun 2024 18:45:00 GMT

Full committee hearing.

  • Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary, Smithsonian Institution

POSTPONED: Puerto Rico Sovereignty and Self-Determination

Tue, 18 Jun 2024 18:30:00 GMT

The purpose of this hearing is to receive testimony on the following bills:
  • S. 2944, to enable the people of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico to determine the political status of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and for other purposes (Wicker);
  • S. 3231, to enable the people of Puerto Rico to choose a permanent, nonterritorial, fully self-governing political status for Puerto Rico and to provide for a transition to and the implementation of that permanent, nonterritorial, fully self-governing political status, and for other purposes (Heinrich).

Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto, Chair

  • Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee
    Public Lands, Forests, and Mining Subcommittee 366 Dirksen
    permalink, rss, atom

FY 2025 Budget Request for the Middle East and North Africa

Tue, 18 Jun 2024 18:30:00 GMT

Subcommittee hearing.

  • Barbara Leaf, Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs, U.S. Department of State
  • Jeanne Pryor, Deputy Assistant Administrator of the Bureau for the Middle East, United States Agency for International Development
  • Senate Foreign Relations Committee
    Near East, South Asia, Central Asia and Counterterrorism Subcommittee 419 Dirksen
    permalink, rss, atom

Unlocking Department of Transportation Financing for More Transit-Oriented Housing Development

Tue, 18 Jun 2024 14:00:00 GMT

Subcommittee hearing.

  • Dr. Tracy Hadden Loh, Fellow, Brookings Institute
  • Adhi Nagraj, Chief Development Officer, McCormack Baron Salazar
  • Dr. Morteza Farajian, Executive Director, Build America Bureau at the U.S. Department of Transportation
  • Senate Appropriations Committee
    Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Subcommittee 138 Dirksen
    permalink, rss, atom

California Air Resources Board's Rail Industry Pollution Standards

Thu, 13 Jun 2024 18:00:00 GMT

Investigations & Oversight Subcommittee hearing entitled “Environmentalism Off the Rails: How CARB will Cripple the National Rail Network.”

Hearing memo

  • Ian Jefferies, President and Chief Executive Officer, Association of American Railroads
  • Chuck Baker, President, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
  • Dr. Tyler Dick, Professor, Texas Railway Analysis & Innovation Node (TRAIN), University of Texas Austin
Background info on CARB’s net-zero-by-2030 rail emissions policy:
  • House Science, Space, and Technology Committee
    Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee 2318 Rayburn
    permalink, rss, atom

National Parks and Immigration Policy: Floyd Bennett Field

Thu, 13 Jun 2024 15:00:00 GMT

On Thursday, June 13, 2024, at 11 a.m., in room 1334 Longworth House Office Building, the Committee on Natural Resources, Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations will hold an oversight hearing titled “Destroying America’s Best Idea: Biden’s Border Crisis, Desecrating National Park Lands and Damaging Communities.”

The hearing was originally scheduled to begin at 10:15 am, but was rescheduled to allow Republicans to attend a breakfast meeting with Donald Trump.

  • Jaime Williams, Assemblymember, 59th District, New York State Assembly
  • Paul King, President, Belle Harbor Property Owners Association, Belle Harbor, NY
  • Elizabeth Morrissey, President, Madison Marine Park Homecrest Civic Association, Brooklyn, NY
  • Amy Fischer, Director of Refugee and Migrant Rights, Amnesty International USA, Washington, DC [Minority Witness]

Hearing memo

  • House Natural Resources Committee
    Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee 1334 Longworth
    permalink, rss, atom

Revenue, Ridership, and Post-Pandemic Lessons in Public Transit

Thu, 13 Jun 2024 15:00:00 GMT

This is a hearing of the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit.

  • MJ Maynard, CEO, Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, on behalf of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA)
  • Laura Hendricks, CEO, Transdev U.S., on behalf of the North American Transit Alliance (NATA)
  • Marc Scribner, Senior Transportation Policy Analyst, Reason Foundation
  • Greg Regan, President, Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO
  • House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
    Highways and Transit Subcommittee 2167 Rayburn
    permalink, rss, atom

A Review of the President’s Fiscal Year 2025 Budget Requests for the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Thu, 13 Jun 2024 14:00:00 GMT

Subcommittee hearing on the SEC budget request and the CFTC budget request. Chaired by Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.).

  • Gary Gensler, Chair, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Rostin Behnam, Chairman, Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • Senate Appropriations Committee
    Financial Services and General Government Subcommittee 138 Dirksen
    permalink, rss, atom

Securing America’s Critical Materials Supply Chains and Economic Leadership

Thu, 13 Jun 2024 14:00:00 GMT

Environment, Manufacturing, and Critical Materials Subcommittee hearing on securing our critical materials supply chains and reducing our dependence on foreign adversaries, like China.

  • House Energy and Commerce Committee
    Environment, Manufacturing, and Critical Materials Subcommittee 2322 Rayburn
    permalink, rss, atom

Older events: 1 2 3 ... 275